top of page
  • mrdavidreader

Tracey seals victory in final Eltham BMC race series

GB under 23 and Guildford athlete Adelle Tracey secured victory in the final British Milers Club Cambridge Harriers race series on Wednesday night at Sutcliffe Park. Winning in a women's track record of 2:01.26, Adelle secured the BMC Women's Challenge title for the first time and in the process took home £400 in prize money.

Moments later, in the Sydney Wooderson Memorial Race (organised in conjunction with Blackheath Harriers) rising 800m star Kyle Langford took the title for the first time, winning in a time of 1:48.94. In a competitive race Langford surged over the final 80 meters to take the title. Sadly Langford, who is coming back from injury, was a little short of the Wooderson's original 1938 world record of 1:48.4, despite perfect race conditions.

Langford receiving his prize from Blackheath President Dave Cordell

The two races are the highlight of the four race meeting series, which has been held at Eltham for over a decade. The Sydney Memorial race was first run 2008 and has become a race with some notable athletes. Previous winners include Charlie Grice, Andrew Osagie and Darren St Clair who holds the record time of 1:47.23 set in 2009.

Earlier in the evening thirteen middle distance races were staged, with performances from over 140 athletes. In the 800m B race, Tonbridge runner George Duggan won in a time of 1:51.94 and in the BMC Women's Challenge 800m, under 17 athlete Khahisa Mhlanga set a new personal best with 2:06.54.

In the 800m I race, South London under 20 athlete Alex Lyne knocked an amazing seven seconds off his PB, winning and setting a new time of 2:10.55. He assisted under 20 female Jodie Judd to set her new PB, coming in second with 2:12.56.

Earlier in the evening in the 5000m, Dom Noland and Paul Navesey had great runs to finish first and second respectively and at the same time both setting new PBs. Both going inside 15 minutes, Dome set a new time of 14:52.9 and Paul 14:55.5.

Tracey, Snowden and Marshall. Top three in the BMC Women's Challenge Race


bottom of page