top of page
  • Writer's pictureClem Dixon

Kent Cross Country League – Senior Men

Updated: Oct 9, 2020

Fifteen of us showed up for the last League fixture of the season, the usual faces being bolstered by Chris Hovenden (who had obviously not been put off by the Parliament Hill mud of two weeks earlier), new member David Hunter, and Jerry Carnell, on the come-back trail from injury, making his first appearance of the season. And unlike at Parliament Hill all of us both finished and found our way into the results (although Roderick set the organisers a challenge by running with his Kent Champs number rather than Kent League!).

Our 5th place in the 4-to-score team competition was sufficient for us to hang on to 4th place in the final league table, our best for four years. But in the 12-to-score the news was less good: we only managed 7th in this race to leave us 7th in the table, our worst place since 2013.

In the individual table we had just two runners who managed to complete all four races: David Reader was 23rd (and 6th M40) and Wole Odele was 76th (and 23rd M50).

In our Grand Prix competition (see below) there is now just one race to go: the Nationals in Nottingham on 22nd February, and Dean Lacy is already assured of first place with David Reader guaranteed the silver medal and Graham Maynard the bronze.

Finally congratulations to Peter Hadley who ran in the earlier M70 race (run in conjunction with the women), his 3rd place was sufficient to earn him 2nd place in the final league table.

Results: Seniors

9 Dean Lacy 34:48 25 James MacDonald 36:39 46 David Reader 38:22 49 Chris Hovenden 38:46 59 Tarbo Fukazawa 39:30 108 Christian Poulton 42:06 159 Graham Maynard 45:21 177 Mike Daly 47:08 180 David Hunter 47:22 183 Wole Odele 47:52 184 Martin Hawkins 48:02 186 Clem Dixon 48:24 193 Jerry Carnell 48:57 210 Ian McCarthy 52:51 224 Roderick Cookey-Bresi 58:54

Results – M70

3 Peter Hadley 30:34


bottom of page