top of page

South of England Cross Country Championships

Updated: Jun 23, 2020

Parliament Hill Fields

The longer distance of 15km, the hilly terrain, and above all the legendary Parliament Hill mud make the Southerns a real stayers' race. This perhaps goes some way to explain the reversal of the positions of our top three finishers compared to the Kent Championships three weeks earlier. This time it was our ultra-specialist Danny Kendall, for whom a marathon is a short race, who was first home for the club just 15 seconds ahead of Chris Wyles with Rob Jackaman third.

The six to score team, completed by David Reader, James MacDonald and Christian Poulton, finished 20th out of the 70 clubs fielding complete teams. We had 15 runners (in a field of well over a thousand) which in some previous years would have been sufficient to carry off the coveted Camden Cup for the best Kent club on a 12 to score basis but with both Tonbridge and Kent AC both fielding strong squads it was not to be this year.

In the pub after the race all were agreed that this was as muddy as we had ever seen the course, but we seem to say that every year!


068.   0:54:57   Danny Kendall

076.   0:55:12   Chris Wyles

103.   0:56:36   Rob Jackaman

296.   1:02:20   David Reader

338.   1:03:18   James MacDonald

392.   1:04:32   Christian Poulton

572.   1:08:59   Peter St Amour

654.   1:10:50   Andy Knight

659.   1:10:59   Graham Maynard

707.   1:12:20   Clem Dixon

763.   1:14:30   Martin Hawkins

905.   1:21:09   Mal Pires

962.   1:25:32   Steve Brown

979.   1:28:25   Mark Newell

986.   1:29:23   Peter Hadley


bottom of page