top of page

Cottrell Cup

Jack Cottrell (1871 – 1926) was one of the seven founding members of Cambridge Harriers in 1890 and became the club’s secretary shortly afterwards, a position he held until 1909. He was also heavily involved in the early years of the Kent County AAA (now KCAA), the South of The Thames Cross Country Association, the Southern Counties Cross Country Association (now part of SEAA), and the National Cross Country Union (now the ECCA). An impressive CV by any standards.

The cup that bears his name is dates back to 1892 and is the oldest in the club’s possession. Historically it has been awarded to the leading senior cross country runner over the course of the season with various approaches having been used to determine the winner.


Currently, it is awarded to the senior runner who has participated in the most races during the course of the season compared to the previous season. Obviously this puts new members and anyone else who didn’t compete for the club in the previous season at a big advantage, but that is precisely the intention: to encourage more new faces into the sport.

Past Winners


  • 2013 James MacDonald

  • 2014 James Gordon

  • 2015 Graham Maynard

  • 2016 Mal Pires

  • 2017 Dean Lacy

  • 2018 Susan Dixon

  • 2019 Joe Simmons

  • 2020 Martin Hawkins

  • 2022 Chris Loudon

download (14).jpg
bottom of page